Posted by: greekamazon | May 27, 2007

Returning, and with a review at that!

I’ve been firmly back on Canadian soil for almost four days now, and I’ve finally gotten over my jet lag enough to type something here.

When I left, I packed two unread books lovingly into my suitcase. One was a Kathy Reichs book, and the other was a book that I bought on the spur of the moment at Chapters about two weeks before I left. I had read the back without paying much attention, except to acknowledge that the book was about wizards and thieves and that combined with the dramatic cover was a book that I expected to be on the better side ‘alright,’ or so exceptionally tacky as to be hilarious. Either way, I figured it would be well worth the eleven dollars I paid for it.

The book in question is Sarah Monette’s Mélusine.

It is, without a doubt, now one of my very favourite books. I was so very captivated by this book that I read it twice on the same trip. One of the men on the trip read it in a span of four hours. My poor Kathy Reichs book never even got opened, for I didn’t want to read any other book in between Mélusine and its sequel, The Virtu, which I would surely snatch up as soon as I returned to Winnipeg. (Of course, after searching two bookstores and finally asking one of the clerks, I was told that The Virtu does not, in fact, come out until the end of July.)

Mélusine takes place in a beautifully developed fantasy world, that comes complete with morals, dogmas and biases surrounding the various uses and schools of magic. However, unlike many other books (even ones which I quite enjoy!) the book itself is not about magic. Magic is inherently intergal to the to both the plot and the world that the story takes place in, but what the book is about is a wizard named Felix Harrowgate and a thief named Mildmay, and how they come to cross paths, and what that crossing of paths might mean.

The story is told from both their perspectives, which often differ drastically. We see two very different aspects of society through their eyes, and so the world of Mélusine is presented with a wonderful realness. The characters too are very tangible and moreover, very delightful.

The story itself is one that I enjoy both because it is the sort of epic fantasy plot that anyone who is fond of high fantasy would enjoy, but also because of the way that it is rather understated. Major, world-altering events happen in Mélusine, with Felix especially as a central player. The events set the very plot in motion. They change the lives of the protagonists drastically. And yet? The non-personal consequences of the events are peripheral, and a resolution for the typical, high fantasy plot line is not reached – is not even attempted – in this book. And that makes this book more believable than any other fantasy novel I’ve read. It allows the characters to develop at their own pace, not forcing them to conform to the restrictions of some obscure quest.

Now then. That’s enough pretentious, pseudo-intellectual babble, don’t you think? If you want to think that I have any sort of dignity when it comes to discussing literature, you may wish to stop reading now.

I firmly believe that I have some sort of book-related gaydar. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve purchased a book or comic with no idea as to its content only to discover, to my delight, that it’s one of the (apparently rare, if the books other people suggest to me are any indication) books that features a healthy dose of gay content. Mélusine was one such book, which made, in my opinion, an already fabulous book just a little bit better. And Ms. Monette’s inclusion of “Janus” (the two-faced Roman God of Gateways) as a slang term for “bisexual” set my face in a grin that I think lasted about two days. I would really like a shirt that says ‘Janus’ on it somewhere.

This brings me to another thing about this book that sent my nerdy little heart a-flutter. Namely, the elements pulled in from, or inspired by the classical world – ranging from beliefs, to slang, to names, to architecture – delighted me beyond all reason. The fact that I was IN Greece at the time, studying ancient culture, religion, architecture and art… that just made it even better. Quite frankly, I’m surprised I didn’t have a heart attack due to overdosing on being giddy.

And my last comment will be on the antagonist. If you know me, you know that I tend to have a thing for the bad guys, and I’m afraid dear Malkar is no exception. Except that he is, for he is a cut above the rest. He’s an extremely intelligent villain, the sort that many authors try to write, but precious few actually succeed at.

Sarah Monette has fast become one of my three favourite authors, and as I poke around her website, I find I like her more and more. My suggestion is that if you can get your hands on Mélusine, you ought to. I know that I will be in my local bookstore on July 31st ready to yank the intestines right out of anyone who tries to grab The Virtu before me. (Or maybe I’ll just go for the eyes.)

Cheers, all. Happy reading!


Responses

  1. Wow. I am buying this book tomorrow.

  2. Please read Beyond the Newsroom written by an experienced journalist Oswald Pereira. It’s said to be India’s first novel on the unholy nexus between the Press and the Mafia. I really enjoyed reading it because it told the truth as it is. It’s available on http://www.amazon.com. For more info click on:
    http://beyondthenewsroom.wordpress.com

  3. Somehow it’s sold out on the Chapters website! But, just to let you know, Amazon.ca somehow has 3 copies of the Virtu left in stock and available right now. So if you don’t want to wait for the July release date…

  4. Just so you know, The Virtu has been out for a year. It is the third that is due out in July.

  5. dc – *Checks* So it is. The soft cover seems to come out in July, I guess that’s what the saleslady meant. Thanks for the heads up! (*Taps jaw* Hmmm…. To get the hardcover? Or to wait until July and have a matching set….)

  6. Excellent review. I read Mélusine last year and really enjoyed it. Has such history to it, and Monette’s prose is deep without being heavy. Plus, Felix!

    I’m waiting for the paperback of The Virtu to arrive at my bookstore. Hope it’s just as good!

  7. Paul – Trust me, it is just as good.


Leave a comment

Categories